Posted by: sunshack | May 4, 2013

Challenging

Over the winter I’d become more aware that turning one way on my skis was getting more difficult. I’d no valid reason for this, the problem was my body not working properly.

After Grimentz closed for the winter, I grabbed 2 pairs of skis and headed over the Col des Montets and down to Chamonix, for some observation and drills with Chris Fecher of Tinderbox Ski School.

We started our 1st day on Grand Montets, and snow cover was superb for the time of year. After some drills we ventured into the soft snow to test out the changes.

Losing a ski, followed by a big headplant, resulted in me being stuck fast in the snow, like a cork in a bottle. One arm was stretched out below me, with one ski off and a mouthful of snow, and I could not free myself.

Chris apparently has eyes in the back of his head, so had soon climbed back up and started digging me free before my air ran out. At one point, he tried pulling me out via my pack, but I remained stuck fast, so he dug from the side, and eventually I rolled out of my “hole” uninjured.

There are no photos of me upside down in a hole, my Coach was too busy digging!

Day 2 and we went up to Le Tour, for some more drills on fatter skis. Snow cover there was equally impressive for April, with top to bottom cover.

Le Tour avec iPhone part deux

Le Tour avec iPhone part deux

I have drills to practice over the summer to train my body out of it’s habit!

I did think it was a shame that the main restaurant at Le Tour was closed and boarded up, leaving only the snack bar open. It gave the area a forlorn feeling.

I did suffer 1 minor piece of Kit Fail which surprised me.

Kit Fail!

Kit Fail!

Coaching over, I played the Chamonix tourist and the town seemed really busy to me.

Tourist Trap?

Tourist Trap?

Train arriving from Mer de Glace

Train arriving from Mer de Glace

Chamonix's Mountaineering History

Chamonix’s Mountaineering History

Categories