Posted by: sunshack | May 5, 2014

Stormy

It’s been way too long since I posted to this Blog. I’d like to think it’s because life has kept me unexpectedly busy over the Winter. It’s the best laid plans that get dealt a sideways blow, and over the Winter, they kept on coming, one after another. As an opener, we moved house, and the new one developed lots of problems as soon as we moved in. Then I Herniated a Thoracic Spinal Disc in early December, and this event has shaped my whole winter.  I’m not one to give up easily, so I just adapted, took some Physio, some Painkillers and carried on….. carefully. My new Motto is, When Life Gives You Lemons …Eat Cake!

It's Carrot Cake, so that must count as 1 of my 5 a Day!

It’s Carrot Cake, so that must count as 1 of my 5 a Day!

We spent Christmas and New Year in Spain, the weather was good and there was plenty to see and do, as long as I stood up 😉 Expected to go and visit my Mother whilst there, but she mailed me to say not to go and visit. Looking back, this turned out to be quite an important moment.

Sand Sculptures-not just for the Summer

Sand Sculptures-not just for the Summer

Mediaeval Playstation

Mediaeval Playstation

Boxing Day As I was having difficulty holding cutlery, this is not me!

Boxing Day. As I was having difficulty holding cutlery, this is not me!

Decided that I was still going skiing, OH would have to carry my skis, and I’d have to be a bit careful. No rucksack, no off piste, and frequent stops to do my exercises. Propped me up in the car with some pillows and majored on pain relief with a TENS machine for the next few weeks.

Can carry nothing, so no Poles either!

Can carry nothing, so no Poles either!

Stayed on fairly smooth slopes, bumps hurt, as you would expect! Just stood there and let the mountain slide past me.

Feeling slightly stronger and on my Roses

Feeling slightly stronger and on my Roses, AKA Painkiller Happy Time!

 

OK I Lied About The Off Piste

OK I Lied About The Off Piste

But I had to be really picky, just a little every now and then, and fresh powder is irresistable and so silky 🙂 Grimentz was fairly quiet, probably because the new and much awaited Cable Car link to Zinal had not been completed on time.

I had to watch as OH picked off a few Powdery stashes.

Less competition for the available Pow this winter

Less competition for the available Pow this winter

Expecting to see a new and bigger Bell for the new Cable Car

Expecting to see a new and bigger Bell for the new Cable Car

I drank plenty of Coffee and took in the mountain air, before we packed up and moved location on our big winter trip. Adapted to use a Mouse with my left hand, and now using the computer standing up. Still munching lots of painkillers!

Categories