Posted by: sunshack | May 8, 2014

Grab The Moment

Travelling around ski resorts with a Herniated Disc was continuing to be quite painful, but with a little effort, I made it over the Col Des Montets and into Chamonix. Our plans to do some ski touring with Chris Fecher were shelved by my injury, so I skied when and wherever I felt strong enough. The Freeride World Tour was visiting Chamonix, so the town was extra busy.

Consumerism meets Mountaineering History

Consumerism meets Mountaineering History

Saturday is Market day, and with all the extra crowds for the FWT, business was brisk!

Not suitable for Vegetarians

Vegetarians avert your eyes!

 

Sponsored by local Dentists (probably)

It’s Nougat.. sponsored by local Dentists (probably)

My ailing back needed a rest so I played tourist for a couple of days, visiting the Mer de Glace and the Hotel Montenvers . I was unable to get down to the Mer de Glace as the staircase (and the Gondola) was shut at Montenvers Terminal.

Mer de Glace from Montenvers

Mer de Glace from Montenvers

Grand Hotel Montenvers, end of the line and full of history

Grand Hotel Montenvers, end of the line and full of history

The Hotel Montenvers is a wonderful old building, where you can dine during the day and stay overnight. It also has a lovely fire!

Lovely warm Fire in Hotel Montenvers

Lovely warm Fire in Hotel Montenvers

We were staying in an apartment close to the Brevent lift in Chamonix. In fact it was close enough to see when it was just the right time to go out to the Gondola 😉

Time for another cuppa methinks

Time for another cuppa methinks

Made it up the hill to be treated to a low vis day. Oh joy!  Only when you have a back problem does it become clear just how much tension we carry in our bodies when skiing in low visibility. Well I do anyway! Still OH got some decent powder time on his new skis.

I had ordered sunshine with my fresh powder

I had ordered sunshine with my fresh powder

OH marches through Les Houches with my skis, while I breeze over to the Ticket Office

OH marches through Les Houches with 2 pairs of skis, while I breeze over to the Ticket Office

 The shortest route to the lift was via the roundabout!

I was mostly managing to do short days on skis, so we were buying 4 hour tickets, which proved very useful. Some days I managed to ski down to the base, but not all.

Another low light day, so we drove over to Cormayeur for a look around. 1st impressions were that it is quite expensive, and attracts a clientele who don’t need to ask the price.

It's a Maserati 4x4 honest

It’s a Maserati 4×4 honest

It was snowing quite hard in Italy, cold and a bit on the quiet side. Stylish shops, which were all closed and some quite interesting looking restaurants, which were also closed – bah. Headed back into Chamonix to put my feet up.

Cormayeur

Drink Responsibly-choose small Bottles

Drink Responsibly-choose small Bottles

Cute row of Russian Dolls on the back

Cute row of Russian Dolls on the back

We did get some sunny days, it’s great to be able to see!

It's a bit windy up there!

It’s a bit windy up there!

 

Grand Montets area looking a bit glazed

Grand Montets area looking a bit glazed on the day we visited.

Le Tour Vallorcine was in good condition

Le Tour Vallorcine was in good condition

It’s now May and I’m still in Physio as I write this. Apparently I’ve made good progress and no longer need painkillers every day. Though quite a few people questioned my sanity in going skiing with a Herniated Disk muttering portents of doom, I followed the advice of my Physio. “Backs need to be kept moving” was his simple motto.

I’m still mostly standing up!

Categories