Posted by: sunshack | March 2, 2015

Trip Sliding

As I’m now living my life a little differently, this January I loaded up the car and headed for the mountains alone. I still managed to fill the car with skis and food!  The journey down was quite uneventful, the weather was too warm for January, and I arrived in Grimentz to a mostly clear car parking space, spooky! It took me ages to unload the car, how would I manage to eat all this food!

Plenty of snow on the pistes, with skiing down to the village, and skiing back to the apartment was technically still possible. I also discovered my new favourite, ski day pudding, big enough to be a meal by itself.

I'm not usually moved to take a photo of a Pudding!

I’m not usually moved to take a photo of a Pudding!

My friend John arrived, and brought some fresh snow with him. I’m not convinced that he was totally keen on the visibility at the start.

Are you sure you know where we are?

Are you sure you know where we are?

New snow

Yes, I know where we are, really!

 Luckily, the sun came out next day, and the snow was deep and very light.

View from the Balcony, it's a great ski day!

View from the Balcony, it’s a great ski day!

John had some new Boots, I think he likes them!

Wait for me!

Wait for me!

John managed to talk me into skiing some steeper terrain. I think he did rather well at getting me to ski these slopes.

P1000559

Came down from this ridge

P1000566

Skiing the “Chamois Variant” underneath the new Cable Car

The new Cable Car between Grimentz and Zinal enables easy hopping between the two resorts, and so one morning I met up with Graham and his friends for a blast on the Zinal pistes. I have no photos of the day, but I think we skied most of the slopes at speed!

For the first time ever, I had noisy neighbours in Grimentz. It appeared that the apartment next door was being used as party central for a group of 50 Finns. I tried going round and pointing out the building rules, which are in pictures. That resulted in a bit more volume, and some more shouty drinking games. I spoke to the rental agency the next morning, who promised to email the renter. Next night, peace again,  but the night after they were back, louder than ever. So the morning after, I went back to the rental agency to explain that if anyone had complained about me explaining to the Finns, the need for the Finns to be quiet (not in these words) from my Balcony. I’d do it again, as it seemed to work.

Time to pack up the car and head for Chamonix, where the Freeride World Tour had been taking place.  Lots of Tents and entertainment in Chamonix Town Centre, including an Audi made from ice, which was cool, no really cool.

P1000611

Audi A3 made from ice

P1000628

Everyone was looking up, this was why!

 Met up with Snowboarding friend John next morning, for a ride around Brevent/Flegere which was really windy. We did manage to find a spot out of the wind to have a picnic.

P1000637

John riding his serrated edged Magne Traction Snowboard

P1000639

Time for some more offpiste tuition from Chris Fecher boss of Tinderbox Ski School. I’m definitely improving. This was from a really fun day in Le Tour.

P1000655

We headed over to Courmayeur for some powder and offpiste. Chris was suffering from a cold, but found that some fresh powder snow is an effective cure.

P1000666

The mountain restaurants are authentic and the food was good.

P1000648

This little resort has a surprising amount of off piste, just don’t tell anyone, ok 😉

P1000664

It snowed some more in Chamonix town, which made the main street look very picturesque.

P1000654

Up near the Brevent lift, the driver of a rear wheel drive BMW estate found that he was unable to go up or down the hill. Time to park on the pavement and fit some chains.

P1000670

As for the food, I seem to eat rather a lot, not much got loaded back in the car!

Categories