Posted by: sunshack | May 3, 2015

Expectations

Late last year, I booked myself onto a Catered Chalet Holiday in Zermatt for April 2015. I used a fairly well known UK Tour Operator called Skiworld, and paid them quite a lot of money. Catered chalets in Switzerland are now quite rare due to restrictions, but there are a few left with UK Tour Operators, usually with contracts that can’t be cancelled. Having paid the final bill back in January, I was quite surprised in mid March to receive an email from the co. telling me that they’d closed the chalet. Would I like instead to go to a chalet in Val d’Isere or Tignes, or perhaps a B&B Hotel in Zermatt? I opted for Zermatt. I managed to get a refund on the money I’d paid Skiworld for lunches, but in no way did it mitigate my extra costs. Never mind, it’s all about the skiing, and Zermatt is unique.

What to do when your skis won't fit in the Gondola Racks

What to do when your new skis won’t fit in the Gondola Racks

When in Zermatt, go for Coffee in Italy

When in Zermatt, go for Coffee in Italy

I was booked into a 4* Hotel, which was adequate, as an average 3* . I was on the 4th floor with no balcony. These were my fire exit instructions.

4th Floor. In the event of Fire, climb out of the window

4th Floor. In the event of Fire, climb out of the window

 Felt sure that my room mates the Woodlice would show me the way. On leaning out, I found a ladder bolted to the wall.

P1000848

A warm day up on the Glacier

 

P1000864

The Matterhorn from Gornergrat

It was still possible to ski all the way back into Zermatt. This is the route down from Sunegga just as you reach town.

P1000890

Zermatt Unplugged was running while I was in town. I didn’t have tickets for any of the Venue’s and found the prices were eye watering. I did manage to listen to several gigs, from the comfort of my room. Some music was advertised as free, such as Ronnie Scott’s performances at the Gandegg Hutte.

P1000873

Ronnie Scott’s at Gandegg Hutte Zermatt

P1000910

Putting my feet up at Chez Vrony

Quite the best Coffee to be found was at the famous Chez Vrony. Great service too.

 It was great to get some fresh snow.

P1000922

The last run of the last day in my winter season.

 The new skis were pretty good, and I’m very pleased with them.


Categories