Posted by: sunshack | July 21, 2015

Kalimera!

A week on a Greek island to refresh my Dinghy Sailing Skills. All very straightforward, and for me, lacking an RYA “Logbook” quite useful to get it all down on paper. Greece was on the verge of running out of money, so I made sure that I took enough for me!

It’s been many years since I’ve travelled to Greece, but from what I saw, things have not really changed once out of a town, which is good. The transfer was quite entertaining, a modern coach, totally full of tourists, with well worn air suspension, travel forward and roll from side to side, just like being at sea. About 1 hour in, and those who suffer from travel sickness began to be affected.  There was no food available on arrival, those who had been travel sick, probably happy. I walked into the nearby town to get a snack.

I’d opted for a holiday centre, and the registration procedure for activities, was quite a bunfight. My Sailing group was too large with 9 and there was another group of 11. Not good. Way too many boats in a small patch of water. My Sailing week came to a swift end, when I capsized and caught one foot in a toestrap, this sprained an ankle. This was quite a big sprain, so no Mountain Biking, Hiking or Stand Up Paddle Boarding either. Oh well, the food was quite good, so I ate all of it!   No-one round the Pool mentioned “Butlins” until mid week.

It would have been good to get up into the hills surrounding the resort, but the best I could manage was the short bumpy walk into the town. As usual Greek Cats rule, and I was owned!

Just give us the food

Just give us the food

The little local town was quite pretty, and the local river is full of Sea Turtles.

Hurtles just love to hang out

Turtles just love to hang out

Greek Island Turtle

Greek Island Turtle

Village Centre Lesvos

Village Centre Lesvos

Village Cafe, Lesvos

Village Cafe, Lesvos

Greek Shopkeepers have a secret weapon

Greek Shopkeepers have a secret weapon

There was quite a substantial storm one night, which exposed the weakness of my Patio doors, when they blew in. Someone else had broken in before I arrived, and the doors no longer fitted. That took lots of Hotel Towels to fix!

Perhaps I was distracted by having a foot and ankle that was very discoloured, but I failed to check in my Hiking Boots before heading into the village. Always check your Boots.

Bug in Hiking Boot

Bug in Hiking Boot

I have reason to believe that this Bug did not enjoy it’s time in my company, or the free ride into the village and back.

I have rescheduled my Dinghy Sailing Courses for later this year, and my ankle is recovering. My Physio tells me it’s torn Ligaments, and that I’m doing well, no reason for concern.

Categories