Posted by: sunshack | September 2, 2017

Wet

P1040422

This summer I decided my Holiday would be activity based. I would be staying in the UK, and taking lessons in Surfing and Wakeboarding. I headed to Cornwall, and planned to split my time between lessons, Hiking and enjoying some Beach time. This was my view when I visited Newquay, and it was probably the best weather  I saw during my stay.

I stayed in a lovely  B&B in the village of Mawgan Porth. My Surfing lessons were with Kingsurf and I made good progress.

So, no lazing on the Beach for me between lessons, I went sightseeing. I visited Truro on a Sunday, which was busy with Tourists.

P1040477

 

P1040480

I took a day to visit the Eden Project near St Austell. It’s a great day out, and the Biodomes are full of wonderful plants, plus some Birds work there as Pest Controllers!

P1040423

P1040466

A Roul Roul at work in the Tropical Biodome

P1040438

P1040453

P1040424

The Eden Project was one of the few venues that I visited which offered free parking to visitors. I feel that I spent more on parking the car than I did on food during my stay in Cornwall.

My Wakeboarding session was organised by Lakeview Wakepark at Waterside Cornwall in the village of Lanivet near Bodmin. The Lake has a cable tow system for Wakeboarding.  The night before my lesson, I’d seriously stubbed a toe in the shower at my Hotel. I’m pleased to say that having a toe which subsequently turned out to be broken made no difference at all to my lesson. I had hoped to be able to make it to my feet (and stay there). I was pretty pleased with my progress.

P1040519

 

I took a look around Padstow one day. A very pretty town and fishing port, though everywhere you turn, Chef Rick Stein has made his mark, either a shop/restaurant/Cafe. This has resulted in the nickname for the town being Padstein. The lanes leading to the town are quite narrow, I had to reverse about 100 metres to make way for a Double Decker Bus!.

Yes, really!

Pretty Harbour in Padstow


Categories